Introduction to CSIRO-Monash Superannuation Research Cluster

The CSIRO-Monash Superannuation Research Cluster is a collaboration between Australia's CSIRO and four universities: Monash University, University of Western Australia, Griffith University and the University of Warwick in the United Kingdom. In addition, the Cluster engages on an ongoing basis with a range of industry supporters, government agencies and industry peak bodies who assist in providing guidance and feedback to researchers, providing data, and in disseminating outcomes.

The Super Research Cluster commenced in September 2013 and is supported by a CSIRO Flagship Cluster Fund Grant of $3m over 3 years. This together with in-kind support from research partners and industry investment will see a $9m program of research.

The purpose of the Super Research Cluster is to examine issues pertaining to the future of Australia's superannuation and retirement systems. With $1.6 trillion in assets under management, the size of the industry is now greater than the capitalization of the ASX, and greater than the combined deposits of all Australian banks. Total superannuation savings now exceed the size of domestic GDP, with Australia now hosting the fourth largest investment management industry globally.  

While the size of these funds augers well for the future of the Australian retirement system, it poses a number of questions that attract the interest of industry participants, policy makers and the wider community. Especially with respect to the allocation of assets across the economy, and the needs and well-being of a rapidly ageing population in the post-retirement phase.

For further details of the Research Program and individual Cluster Research Projects please go to Research Projects & Teams.

CSIRO-Monash logo

In association with industry leading stakeholders and research partners:

Corporate partners' logos 

With the support of major industry bodies and government departments:

  • Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
  • Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees (AIST)
  • Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia (ASFA)
  • Australian Taxation Office (ATO)
  • Federal Treasury
  • Financial Services Council (FSC)
  • Productive Ageing Centre, National Seniors Australia
  • Productivity Commission

Professor Hazel Bateman of UNSW also provides advice to the Cluster.

Latest Reports

Latest News

20/01/2015 Superannuation Research Cluster Newsletter - Issue 3, 2014

21/08/2014 Superannuation Research Cluster Newsletter - Issue 2, 2014

19/03/2014 Superannuation Cluster Newsletter - Issue 1, 2014

20/01/2015 2014 Annual Conference - Program and Presentations

10/02/2014 Researchers to debunk super spending myths

04/12/2013 Superannuation Research Centre appoints two post-doctoral fellows

29/08/2013 Launch of Superannuation Research Centre

Read More Read Less